2016 – a reading year in review

Not unlike the previous year, 2016 has been filled with changes and new achievements for me.
First of all, this was my first year of being a fully-fledged bookseller with my own section to manage and all-new responsibilities. This, of course, influenced my reading habits quite a bit – I had to read outside my comfort zone. Which means hat I read a lot more middle grade and YA books than I would normally have done.

Also, I got my driver’s licence in May!
And no longer using public transportation seriously cut into my reading time. I did, however, find a new appreciation for audiobooks and listened to a few on my daily drives.

Apart from the usual Goodreads stuff, this year I used a really neat spreadsheet (created by booktuber Brock/Let’s Read) in order to track my reading activity.
So, let’s look at the numbers, shall we?

  • In 2016 I read a total of 58 books making up 17,171 pages in total.
  • I surpassed my Goodreads reading challenge by eight books.
  • Even though I own two different ebook readers 76% of the books I read were physical copies.
  • I tend to read more books by female authors (67%).
  • My busiest reading months were January and November and I tend to buy a lot more books when I don’t have time to read.

These were my favourites (i.e. five-star-reviews):

It’s hard to pick an absolute favourite since these eight are all awesome in their individual way, but Sylvain Neuvel’s “Sleeping Giants” comes really close to being the winner of 2016! Such a cool narrative and great characters and that twist at the end! Also, giant robot parts buried all around the planet? What’s not to love?

28 of the 58 books I deemed four- or five-star-worthy, which is quite a good average in my opinion. I think that has to do with the fact that I don’t trudge on through every single book I read. I do not HAVE TO finish everything I start, so I have a lot more time to read really really great books!

However, there still are a few losers this year… books I’ve finished but absolutely didn’t like. The first of the two top spots in this category is taken by V.E. Schwab’s  “A Gathering of Shadows”, the second book to the Shades of Magic series. It simply could not hold my attention because it was too long by a few hundred pages and did nothing for me plotwise. The disappointment is completed by the fact that I absolutely loved the first book in the series and now I’m pretty sure I won’t read the upcoming final publication.
The second “bad one” to stand out is by widely-loved German author Benedict Wells. “Vom Ende der Einsamkeit” (roughly translates to “About the end of loneliness”) was a pseudo-literary snoozefest and in my opinion a rather typical specimen of the kind of books that make it on the German bestseller list.

All in all, 2016 was a pretty good reading year. I’ll spend the rest of it finishing “The Fate of the Tearling” by Erika Johansen (which I absolutely love, by the way).

And my bookish resolution for 2017 is to write a lot more reviews. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in personal life, reading experience, wrap up and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

