What I read in January 2016

New Year, new Reading Challenge. I set my goal at 50 books for 2016. In January I’ve read 9. I think I’m off to a good start. Here’s what I read.

My personal highlight of the month is Throne of Glass. There is such an amount of hype surrounding this series and Sarah J. Maas’s writing that I was wary of picking this up. I’m glad I did, though. What a fun read! No masterpiece and definitely over-hyped, but fun!

Revelation of the month: Persuasion is not as great as I remembered it. I know most people think of this as Austen’s most accomplished novel. To me – after having read it three times now – it is one of her weaker ones. Doesn’t even make my Top 3 of Austen novels (which are Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, and Emma; in varying order).

Disappointment of the month: I am Princess X. Great Idea but Priest could’ve done so much more with the comic format. Sigh.

This entry was posted in wrap up and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

