Reading in 2015 – a really short overview.

As you might have noticed 2015 is coming to an end. What a year, eh?
For me 2015 has been a year of new things.
My first real full time job. So many new things to learn.
An unexpected new friend!
In November my commute has become much longer, so 2016 can be expected to become good year regarding reading time.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. Before the resolutions there must be the review. Let’s look back.

In 2015 I’ve read 64 books, 20,680 pages! I’m still in the middle of one more. There are eleven more books which I started and did not finish. If you’re interested in seeing everything I read this year, you’re only a click away.
For now here are my all the books that I gave a five star rating in 2015.

Oddly enough thinking back there are a few books that definitely stuck with me but didn’t get the five star treatment at the time. I think these are worth mentioning, too.

Each of these is the first in a series. And they were all absolutely fantastic – each in its own way. I tend to give the first book in a series a lower rating than it actually deserves in case the author can outshine themselves with the rest of the series…which is the case most of the time really. Long story short, these three actually deserve five stars in hindsight.

But 2015 has also seen its share of bad reads. I’ve actually given out one star ratings to three books this year… three out of 64. That’s ok. My number one object of hate has been The Girl on the Train. You can read about my reasons here.

All in all 2015 has been a good year, not only in terms of reading. I’m looking forward to 2016 and I have no intentions of minimizing my TBR or any of that kind of talk. I simply know it won’t happen and I’m trying to embrace the chaos that is my bookshelf.

Happy reading everyone! See you in 2016!

This entry was posted in review, wrap up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

