Mini-Review: The Invisble Library by Genevieve Cogman

invisble libraryThe Invisble Library by Genevieve Gogman

3.5 out of 5 stars

In December all I wanted was a fun read. Some kind of adventure story that would be captivating enough to allow me to escape into it for that little free time that I had. I decided that Rivers of London sounded quite like that kind of book. But, sadly, it wasn’t.

The Invisible Library, however, is exactly that kind of book. A female librarian-spy,  an alternatess Victorian London, a bit of Steampunk, some dragons, faeries, and vampires, and a whole lot of fun! That’s what this book is.

I do have one point of criticism though. A bit more work on the character-front would have made this novel absolutely perfect. I really had trouble picturing Irene, the protagonist. I don’t know if I missed the introductory description or if there really wasn’t any. But I’m completely  unsure of Irene’s age and looks. If you cannot see the characters before your mind’s eye it becomes pretty hard to feel for them. I do like Irene and Kai but I feel like I had to make an effort turning them into people; like I had to colour in the outlines the author provided me with. I can only hope that I won’t have forgotten about them before the next book in the series is published.

I also hope that Cogman will have learned from her debut novel and will get better at this kind of writing. Because the worlds she creates are fun and fascinating and I do want to know what happens next! Yes, I need answers! Don’t leave me hanging, dear Genivieve! And please give us more Irene and more alternates when the series continues. Thank you!

This entry was posted in mini-review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mini-Review: The Invisble Library by Genevieve Cogman

  1. Daniel Waltz says:

    This book sounds awesome! I Love steampunk stuff mixed with dragons and fairies and dang, spies? London? It sounds freaking great! Thanks for reviewing this. If you’re looking for another book to review, I would love to hear what you have to say about mine. It doesn’t have steampunk, yet, but it the first in a series of seven. It’s also free.

    Barnes & Noble –> http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-water-travelers-daniel-waltz/1120109327?ean=2940046443998

    iBooks –> https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/water-travelers-heir-unknown/id948900711?mt=11

    Kobo –> http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-water-travelers-heir-of-the-unknown

    Smashwords –> https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/498708

    Like

  2. Daniel Waltz says:

    Reblogged this on daniel waltz and commented:
    This. Book. Sounds. Freaking. Sweet.

    Like

  3. Pingback: What I read in January | me reading books

Leave a Reply

