What I read in November

I just wrote up this whole monthly overview and it got deleted. Damn you technology!
So this is only my second best effort, in case you were wondering about the lack of brilliance. Ha.

station elevenStation Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
3 out of 5
I really wanted to like this. It actually seemed like the perfect book for me. Dytopian/apocalyptic setting with a “value of art in society” theme represented by a company of actors devoted to playing Shakespeare for other survivors.
But, alas, it was only ok. And that still makes me really sad. If you’re interested, here’s a mini-review I wrote.


weird things customers say in bookshopsWeird Things Customers Say in Bookshops
by Jen Campbell
4 out of 5
Fun, fun, fun!
I don’t think I have to introduce this one anymore.
It’s an absolute fun read for anyone who loves and frequently visits bookshops and it’s even more fun if you’ve ever worked in a bookshop.
I actually treated myself to a copy signed by the author in celebration of my four months anniversary of working in the world of books.


sagaSaga Vol. 3 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
4 out of 5
My graphic novel of the month. Again fabulous art and absolutely awesome story! Can’t wait for the next one! This series just keeps getting better and better! Nuff said! (Look at all those exclamation marks! Wow! This must be a good one…)


horrorstörHorrorstör by Gary Hendrix
3 out of 5
This was a fun read. Nothing more, nothing less.
I was intrigued by its design. The book is made up to look like an IKEA catalogue and the chapter title pages are depictions of faux-IKEA furniture. The story itself takes place at Orsk, a cheap knock-off of the famous Swedish furniture store. The set-up is pretty much you’re usual horror movie premise: weird things have been happening in the store during the night; so let’s get together a team of people to work the night-shift and see what kind of creepy things happen once the store is locked up.
And it does work pretty well for the first half of the book. I was appropriately chilled and the tension built up really well. At the same time Hendrix is able to keep it funny and I actually kind of liked the female protagonist (though you’d be hard pressed to find a fleshed out character in this one). While being a funny little horror story that tends to stay on the gory side of things, it is also the story of a girl trying to make the best of her life as a retail-worker.
Horrorstör is a bit weird, a bit creepy, and sometimes funny. It actually reminded me a lot of John dies at the End. In a good way. The catalogue theme could have been approved upon to make it seem more special and a little less half-assed.


what ifWhat if? by Randall Munro
4 out of 5
I’ve been reading xkcd.com for years. I admit that I don’t get every single joke and some of the science stuff is way over my head but Munro is pretty damn funny.
In this book he works under the premise of giving “serious scientific answers to absurd hypothetical questions”. And it’s fantastic! He plays out the weirdest scenarios with solid scientific backgrounds. Such as building a periodic table with cubes made of the actual elements. And it’s all peppered with the beloved stick figures we all know so well from his blog.
Dry humor, sarcasm, and science! What more could you ask for?

What I’m in the middle of reading:

This entry was posted in mini-review, review, wrap up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

