Review: The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey

17235026The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey

4 out of 5 stars

Before reading I tried not to find out too much about the actual plot. Still, I had my expectations and the blurb implies some sort of supernatural or non-human aspect in the main character. However, I imagined something quite different from what this novel turned out to be. I was pleasantly surprised to find a post-apocalyptic novel with an actual new and interesting twist to it.

I am not going to tell you the main character’s “secret” since it was what kept me reading in the beginning. You are dropped into this strange world where children are kept in cells and only brought out constrained to wheelchairs. I especially liked how the author established this world through the point of view of one of those children – Melanie, the protagonist. Her innocent yet intelligent voice makes for a very strange and intriguing entry point.

However, once it becomes clear what is going on in this research facility and you get a fairly good idea WHAT these children are (again, not telling!) the plot turns into a fairly simple post-apocalyptic road novel. The middle part was therefore a bit slow for me and I actually thought about not finishing the book. I kept going, however; and it paid out.

The ending is what absolutely saved this novel. Again, I won’t tell exactly what happened there – that would be plain mean. I am just going to say, that the twist at the end came rather unexpectedly and is of the brave and unconventional kind.

I wanted to read the novel for the mystery and the strange premise and I stuck with it for the character development and the seemingly hopelessness of the situation they are in. I really liked it for it’s (for the genre) uncommon ending and the point of view of a child that has knowledge of a past she has no first-hand experience of; a past that is – of course – our present.

This entry was posted in review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey

  1. Laura says:

    Thanks for reviewing this book! I saw this book at the local bookstore on weekend and thought it seemed interesting, but was not sure if it was worth spending my money on. You had me convinced to read it, so thanks! 🙂

    Like

    • jedigirl says:

      Hey! Thanks for reading my review! I love getting feedback and I love it even more when I can convince someone to read a book I liked. Hope you’ll enjoy it like I did!

      Like

Leave a Reply

